If I had a nickel for every time someone asked, “Is Tequila Rose gluten free” or “Do you have a list of gluten-free alcohol?”

It’s a great question, too, because the truth is that the answer is complicated.

First, no, not all alcohol is gluten free.

But yes, there are a ton of gluten-free alcohol options.

If you have been gluten free for any amount of time, you already know that traditional beer is not gluten free.

But did you know that even when you think you are safe consuming that alcoholic beverage, there just might be a reason why you still feel ill afterward?

There are many reasons for it, but what I describe HERE is something you might not have considered. 

The Gluten-Free Diet

There are many reasons why you might be following a diet which excludes gluten-containing ingredients.

Some of these reasons include:

  1. Celiac Disease diagnosis (the top reason + most important): People with celiac disease must strictly adhere to a gluten-free diet. Gluten triggers an immune response in individuals with celiac disease, causing damage to the small intestine.
  2. Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity: Some people may experience gastrointestinal or other symptoms in response to gluten, even though they don’t have celiac disease. This condition is known as non-celiac gluten sensitivities. You might also fall under this category if you’ve been told you have a gluten intolerance.
  3. Wheat Allergy: Individuals with a wheat allergy need to avoid wheat, and consequently, gluten. Wheat is one of the major sources of gluten.

It is, however, important to make note that while I oftentimes put wheat and gluten together, they are not the same things.

Wheat is a grain. Gluten is a protein.

If something says “gluten free,” then it’s always “wheat free.”

If something says “wheat free,” it’s not necessarily “gluten free.” It can all seem very confusing, which is why I put together THIS list of 124 wheat and gluten sources and alternate names.

Finally, some choose to avoid gluten content because it’s a popular choice and/or by removing the presence of gluten, have found they simply feel better overall.

Whatever the case might be….

Is Alcohol Gluten Free?

Click HERE to save this post for later.

Is alcohol gluten free agutsygirl.com

When I was in college, prior to caring about anything health-wise my drinks of choice were always:

  • Rum and Diet Coke
  • Pina Colada
  • Beer –> but wait, that wasn’t by choice, that was forced when there was nothing else around
  • Anything else sweet and sugary, typically dark liqueurs

Back then I could barely drink without getting sick. 

I should have started piecing the puzzle together then. But of course I did not.

In almost all of my college beverages, there was gluten in the alcohol.

And I still don’t drink much to this day because the truth is that I know alcohol disrupts digestion.

Leaky gut is only worsened by alcohol, so if I go over a glass or two of anything, I’m likely to feel things such as dizziness, stomach discomfort and sometimes joint pain the day following alcohol consumption.

However, you don’t have to give up alcohol altogether if you are gluten free or have IBD and/or IBS. You just need to be smart about it, engage in trial-and-error and not overdo it.

So let’s break down some alcohol categories and brands that are gluten free.

Is Tequila Rose Gluten Free (+ a gluten free alcohol list)

Click HERE to save this for later.

Is Tequila Rose Gluten Free + a gluten free alcohol list agutsygirl.com

Gluten Free Tequila

As it’s one of the most frequently asked questions, “Is Tequila Rose gluten-free,” let’s start there.

Otherwise known as the world’s best-selling strawberry cream liqueur, the Tequila Rose website confirms that: YES, their products are gluten free.

That being said, many who choose (or have to) avoid gluten-containing grains also avoid lactose. And according to Tequila Rose, their products are NOT lactose-free. (They make note: There is about the same amount of lactose in Tequila Rose as a glass of skim milk.)

This should be obvious, though, with a name like, “Tequila Rose Strawberry Cream.” 

​The exact ingredients in this tequila include:

  • water
  • real dairy cream (milk)
  • sugar
  • tequila
  • alcohol
  • maltodextrin
  • milk protein
  • flavors, colours (E129 and E150c)

According to Beyond Celiac

Pure tequila, usually made with the blue agave plant (blue agave tequila), is considered gluten-free. Even if the tequila is mixtos, meaning that it contains at least 51% agave with other sugars added, it will still be safe for people with celiac disease.

Besides Tequila Rose, let me share with you a list of other gluten-free alcohols.

Gluten Free Wine

Wine is naturally gluten free, making it a great choice – usually. While red, rose wines, and white wines are all naturally gluten-free, some types may be more likely to contain gluten. 

For example, the dessert wines and fortified wines may have additives or flavorings that contain gluten. Think: wine coolers, fruit-flavored dessert wines and even some Ports.

Even with wines that do not include those, some practices — like aging the wine in oak barrels sealed with wheat paste — may add tiny amounts of gluten. 

It’s usually never going to be enough to matter, but if you’re truly concerned, then you should reach out to the brand to inquire. 

Gluten Free Alcohol List agutsygirl.com

Gluten Free Beer

Gluten-removed beers are actually not that hard to find any longer. However, you will need to inspect labels with a careful eye to ensure it only consists of gluten-free ingredients.

Here are some gluten-free beers to consider:

  1. Glutenberg
  2. New Belgium Glutiny
  3. Two Brothers Prairie Path Golden Ale
  4. Against the Grain
  5. Ghostfish Brewing

Note: This is sort of a non-beer, beer option because it’s a ginger beer. But check out one of my faves, Crabbies Ginger Beer. It’s sweet so I usually only have 1 or 2, but just incredible. I also love that I can drink it out of a glass beer bottle. 

Furthermore, another great gluten free PLUS no alcohol content beer option is Upside Dawn by Athletic Brewing. 

Hard Cider

A hard cider is an alcoholic drink made from fermented crushed fruit, typically apples. It’s not common for hard ciders to contain gluten, but as with everything else, the production process can make it so.

Here are some gluten-free hard ciders:

  1. Angry Orchard
  2. Fox Barre
  3. Ciderboys
  4. Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cider
  5. Original Sin Hard Cider


If I had to choose one alcohol and only drink that, it would be vodka. For me personally, it’s the easiest to digest and that alone makes it an excellent choice. If I have just 1-2 drinks using high-quality vodka, I’m just fine. 

These are some of my favorite vodka brands which state they are gluten free:

  1. Grey Goose
  2. Ciroc Ultra Premium Vodka
  3. Tito’s
  4. Ocean Vodka
  5. Smirnoff Vodka


The distillation process is the only thing that typically prohibits rum from carrying gluten-free labels, as rum is made primarily from sugarcane molasses or sugarcane juice. 

Consider this list of gluten-free rums:

  1. Malibu
  2. Cruzan Rum
  3. Bacardi (only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored)
  4. Myer’s Rum
  5. Mount Gay
  6. Captain Morgan


In addition to Tequila Rose (which is more of a creamy liqueur than straight tequila anyways), here are some gluten-free tequilas:

  1. 1800 Tequila
  2. Patron Tequila
  3. El Jimador
  4. Jose Cuervo
  5. Don Julio Tequila


Many tend to avoid whiskey as is darker in color by nature, thus many believe it to contain gluten. However, Beyond Celiac states:

Yes, pure, distilled whiskey (or whisky), even if made with wheat, barley, or rye is considered gluten-free.

Most whiskeys are safe for people with celiac disease because of the distillation process. However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in whiskeys that add flavorings or other additives after distillation.

Here are some whiskeys to choose from for your gluten-free lifestyle:

  1. Jack Daniel’s Whiskey
  2. Maker’s Mark
  3. Wild Turkey Bourbon
  4. Queen Jeenie Whiskey
  5. Hudson Bay Bourbon

Note: I am not a whiskey girl. Well, that was until I tried the Skrewball Whiskey, which is a Peanut Butter Whiskey that’s both vegan and gluten free. 


Gluten should be distilled out in production, but if you’re really concerned be sure to avoid gin derived from wheat, rye, or barely.

Some great Gin options include:

  1. Hendrick’s Gin
  2. Monopolowa Dry Gin
  3. Schramm Organic Gin
  4. Aviation American Gin
  5. Cold River Gin


Like whiskey, brandy also tends to get overlooked. But Celiac.com states,

According to the major brands of brandy, the ingredients used to make brandy are gluten-free. Although most brandy is not specifically labeled “Gluten-Free,” none of the top brands we’ve looked at are made using gluten ingredients, and none list wheat as an allergen. Brandy is also on our list of gluten-free alcoholic beverages.

Here are some Brandy options:

  1. E & J
  2. Paul Masson
  3. Christian Bros Brandy
  4. Mansion House Brandy
  5. Alambic

Best Alcohol for a Sensitive Stomach

So what do I think is the best alcohol and perfect drink for a sensitive stomach?



In my personal experiences, these are the top 3 (from best to worst)….

No Alcohol at All

I realize you do not want to hear this. 

Believe me, I don’t want to tell you it. 

But to pretend like alcohol is good for a great option for a sensitive stomach and/or while you’re healing your gut would be false. 

In fact, I don’t believe the concept of alcohol and gut healing is discussed enough. 

To this day I rarely drink (because it truly does not leave me feeling well usually); maybe just for the special occasion :). 

But during the depths of my healing, I maybe had 1-2 drinks per month. 

And guess what? I am a firm believer in this AND I own a cocktail bar where we make the most incredible and delicious cocktails.

Yet, I have to share these truths with you – who is desperately trying to heal your gut.


Make it a super high-quality Vodka then mix with water and a little lemonade or lime juice and/or fresh-squeezed lemon + limes for a super refreshing drink. 

That combination is about as simple as it will get.

For an added boost, skip the lemonade and opt to add in LMNT for a delicious flavor meets electrolytes.


Also a clear alcohol that has limited fermentation. 

Honorable mention: Whiskey. It’s approved on many diet protocols, too.

Why You Still Don’t Feel Well Consuming Alcohol Even If It’s Gluten Free

7 reasons why you might still feel awful after drinking alcohol agutsygirl.com

Here are 7 reasons why you might still feel awful after drinking alcohol even if you think it’s gluten free:

  1. Distilling process. Or the manufacturing process in general.
  2. Wine barrel cross contamination.
  3. Sulfites or other preservatives – you know, the things that make your taste buds light up.
  4. Other preservatives. It’s not that often when we are drinking just straight alcohol (i.e. just vodka or just gin or just the thrilling bite of tequila 🙂 ). Usually if we are having hard alcohol, then it’s by way of a mixed drink. And in those mixes are so many things that might be making you feel bloated and miserable. 
  5. You don’t have the proper enzymes to break the alcohol down. This can largely be due to genetics.
  6. Histamine intolerance
  7. You drank too much 🙂

What do you think? How do you do with alcohol? Any favorite gluten-free alcoholic beverages to add to the list?

If you liked this post, you might also enjoy:

  1. 8 Non-Gluten-Containing Foods
  2. Keto Lemonade {Easy Recipe for Constipation}
  3. Why Does My Stomach Hurt {and How to Reset Your Gut}


Similar Posts


  1. That is so weird that you posted this.. I just came across an add for the new Gluten Free Michelob Lite Apple Cider… I was actually rather curious about it myself.

    I actually was a RUM and beer girl.. I even have a pirate kitchen with rum bottles for decor. I miss it when I want to drink but I can’t have pop anymore and rum and cokes were my fave drink. I am sure if I do have SIBO that the bacteria loved my rum obsession ha ha. Whenever I drink beer though I feel insanely bloated and full so I have had to stop drinking it.

    If I do have a drink I now have the following…

    Skinny Girl Bare Naked All Natural No Sugars added Vodka with all natural unsweetened cranberry juice. I haven’t had any issues drinking it so far.

    But like you.. i have to limit my intake .. one thing that bothers me the most is the flare ups in my chest if I drink too much hard liquor…

    1. I find that when I drink, I also need to stay very low carb and low sugar to minimize any unwanted effects. This is the reason I pretty much stick with the vodka/water.

  2. My drink of choice is a shot of good tequila followed by a gluten free beer. I only drink, maybe, twice a month and usually not that often.

Comments are closed.